We’ve quietly released a new feature that allows you to have pages and galleries that don’t appear in your websites menu system. How does this help you and how would you ever use it? I’m glad you asked. Let’s looks at a few scenarios.
1. Online Proofing / A hidden gallery. Do you want to share a gallery that you don’t want all your visitors to see but you also don’t want to require a password to log in to. For example, you’ve just shot a wedding and want to share it among the wedding party. All you need to do now is make it a private gallery. You can then share the link via email and your clients can deep link directly to their gallery. Meanwhile their gallery will not appear in your web site menu, so your other clients won’t be distracted by it. Previously, a private gallery needed to have a customer account attached, requiring a username and password. This feature is still available, but no longer necessary for galleries that you don’t need security for, you just don’t want the general public looking at them
2. Hidden galleries accessed only from a portfolio page. This is good an option if you want to follow a minimalist approach. You’ll keep your menu navigation uncluttered but your clients can access the galleries from a portfolio home page. In this scenario, you could have a simple menu that only has home, portfolio, and contact as options. When portfolio is clicked on, the user goes to a page you’ve built with links to the galleries you want them to access. You can even skip a separate “Portfolio” page all together and do the same thing on your home page.
3. A hidden page. Why would you ever need a hidden page that does not appear in your menu? There are limitless possibilities but a few of the more common ones include a thank you page that clients are redirected to after a Paypal purchase. Another would be for price lists that you want to share with potential clients but don’t want your competitors to see. All you need to do is create the page and then go to the “Manage Pages” area of your site and click on visible. This should turn to say hidden. you can then share the link to the page with your prospects.
4. A page in development. The feature is also useful for pages under construction. You can take your time putting a page together and not worry about anyone seeing it until you are ready to make it public. To do this simply create a new page and set it to hidden. You can then work on building the page, while previewing it at its URL, without worrying that your clients might see it before it is ready. When you are ready to go, simple go to the Manage Your Pages area and turn the page to ‘visible’.